Guitars Like Skyscrapers

December 8, 2005 at 12:01 am 1 comment

sky

Today Maura and I are thinking alike. On her latest blog post she describes exactly what I hate about bands like My Chemical Romance (I love their videos, with the sound down), Fallout Boy, and every Matrix dominatrix from Avril to Liz: “vocals styles may change, but the kids of america will always love guitars that sound like they were structured to resemble 85-story skyscrapers.”

I was just having this conversation with Anthony in the hallway about an hour ago about what bugged me about the Lindsay Lohan album that I heard at work. Anthony likes guitars like skyscrapers. To me, skyscraper guitars come off as hard and shiny and they make my teeth hurt. I don’t know much about production but can we make that stop now please? It’s like putting a pound of sugar on a scoop of ice cream.

My fave guitar sounds: the late, lamented Link Wray’s “Rumble,” MC5’s “Lookin At You,” the Isaac Hayes version of “Walk On By,” anything Johnny Ramone ever played, the first Throwing Muses LP, James Honeyman-Scott’s closing riff on The Pretenders’ “Two Birds of Paradise,” The Count Five’s “Psychotic Reaction,” Beck’s stolen Troggs riff in “Devil’s Haircut,” the list goes on. I guess I’m not a digital, compressed kind of gal. I don’t think guitars should be taller than William Penn’s hat. I’m also not a fan of the neutered guitars on Triple AAA recordings either.

But seriously, I know nothing about production. I just know what my ears like and what makes my teeth hurt.

Entry filed under: Music, Uncategorized.

More Belated Announcements Mommy What’s A Ternt?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mike P  |  December 12, 2005 at 11:00 am

    I also love the My Chemical Romance videos but I’m cool with the songs too, at least that “Helena.” There’s a certain Brian May quality to the guitars that redeems the skyscraper building.

    In general, though, that guitar sound does bug me. But not as much as what I think of as the KROQ drum sound. Even current-day Green Day are guilty of that radio-friendly indulgence.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2005
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts