Archive for August 27, 2004

Brimful of Asha

Things I played at Cathy’s and Trishy’s very last Bad Reputation gig at The Khyber (where a bazillion DJ’s played 10-15 minute sets). Since I only had a short amount of time, I picked three CD’s that would fit in my purse, because if I gave myself more room than then I’d have an hour-and-half of music in a bag that would be too tricky to navigate on my bike. So I used two of my four Bollywood (i.e. Indian movie soundtracks) compilations.

“One, Two Three Baby” – Asha Bhosle & Mahendra Kapoor, from Kings and Queens of Bollywood
Always a crowd pleaser, and the chorus is the best, “One! Two! Three baybeeeee, yaaa yaaaa yaaaa!” Like a speeded up “Minnie the Mooch.”

“Jaan Pehechaan Ho” – Mohammed Rafi, from the Ghost World soundtrack
Surf guitars like Indian Dick Dale. I want more of his stuff but have been unable to find it. Dave gave me a link to explore.

“Dum Maro Dum” – Ashe Bhosle & Chorus, from I Love Bollywood
Indian psychedelia.

Since everyone had the ’80s hip-hop/dance party going on, I was cautious about disrupting the vibe, but it was a big hit with the crowd.

I want more of this stuff, but basically from the ’60s. If anyone can recommend anything, fill the comment box or contact me off-blog.

Best moment of the evening: John D taking off his shirt and stripping for dollars, gay go-go boy style.

By the way, who set up Raised By Bees on Livejournal? Thanks!

August 27, 2004 at 2:01 pm 2 comments


Calendar

August 2004
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category